SPI is an organization that welcomes diverse voices, elevates the accomplishments of marginalized people, and advances racial equity and justice for all. Our vision is to reduce inequality in social, economic, health, and educational outcomes at the local, state, U.S. national, and global national levels through evidence-informed policy and practice. Inclusion is one of our key values.

The Social Policy Institute launched a diversity, equity and inclusion committee, compiled of staff and students from all departments, to ensure we live our values in every aspect of our work and day-to-day practices as an institute. This work is an ongoing priority for the Social Policy Institute as individuals and an organization.

Our committees are currently working on documenting our equity, diversity, inclusion and accessibility goals and objectives. They will be posted here soon.

SPI Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

Committee Standing Members
  • Sarah Cowart, communications manager
  • Dan Ferris, associate director of education and training
  • Jenrose Fitzgerald, program coordinator
  • Katie Kristensen, program manager
  • Maggie Speck-Kern, operations manager
  • Dan Zhao post-doctoral research associate
Communications Working Group Members
  • Abaki Beck, research manager
  • Martha Benduski, communications coordinator
  • Sarah Cowart, communications coordinator
  • Dan Zhao, post-doctoral research associate
Operations Working Group Members
  • Mary Acri, research associate professor
  • Grace Anderson, research assistant
  • Laura Brugger, data analyst III
  • Dan Ferris, associate director of education and training
  • Jason Jabbari, research assistant professor
  • Seamus Saunders, program coordinator
  • Maggie Speck-Kern, operations manager
  • Takeshi Terada, data analyst III
  • Fanice Thomas, associate director of policy and strategy.
Community Engagement Working Group Members
  • Martha Benduski, communications Coordinator
  • Jenrose Fitzgerald, project coordinator
  • Sophia Fox-Dichter, data analyst II
  • Hayley Kalb, communications associate
  • Katie Kristensen, program manager
  • Esma Karakas, program coordinator